MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR NASHVILLE COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 99, WASHINGTON, JEFFERSON AND PERRY COUNTIES, HELD AT THE SCHOOL BUILDING IN THE CITY OF NASHVILLE, ILLINOIS ON AUGUST 20, 2018, AT 6:00 P.M.

The Board of Education for Nashville Community High School District No. 99 met in regular session on Monday evening, August 20, 2018, at the High School Building in the City of Nashville, Illinois pursuant to the rules of the Board of Education.

Upon roll call the following answered present:

Paul BarczewskiPresentSharon OgrzewallaPresentKim MorrisPresentJohn HallockPresentRandy SchwartzkopfPresent

Shawn Cook Present (Arrived at 6:22 p.m.)

Thomas Speedie Present

Also present were Superintendent Brad Turner and Principal Mark Begando. In addition, teacher Haeli Williamson were present as well as the media.

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded by Tom Speedie to approve the consent agenda, minutes, payment of bills, and financial reports, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Absent
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Kim Morris and seconded by Randy Schwartzkopf to accept the Treasurer's report, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Paul Barczewski Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea John Hallock Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Yea Shawn Cook Absent Thomas Speedie Yea The President declared the motion carried.

There were no visitors who addressed the Board of Education at this month's meeting.

Principal Mark Begando gave an update on the activities of the beginning of school year.

Superintendent Brad Turner gave an update on the Greenhouse project and Health Life Safety Amendment.

It was moved by Randy Schwartzkopf and seconded by Kim Morris to approve the tentative budget for 2018-19 school year.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:
Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Absent
Thomas Speedie Yea

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve the additional drainage system needed for the greenhouse project.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Shawn Cook and seconded by Randy Schwartzkopf to approve the unit office copier.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Kim Morris and seconded by Tom Speedie to approve the Driver's Ed Lease Agreement for the 2018-19 school year.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded by Shawn Cook to approve the out-of-state field trip requests, as presented. (See Attached)

The members voted as follows:

Voting 7 Yea 0 Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

After discussion, it was moved by Randy Schwartzkopf and seconded by Shawn Cook to approve the energy contract with Homefield Energy through AG & E for 36 months, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by John Hallock and seconded by Tom Speedie to approve the substitute teacher pay raise to \$80.00 per day.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Randy Schwartzkopf to approve the interfund loan from Working Cash Fund to Tort Fund in the amount of \$2,500.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded by John Hallock to allow Superintendent Brad Turner to begin working on Health Life Safety approval and secure bids to replace the existing track surface and base layer.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Shawn Cook to approve the status of closed session minutes and to destroy closed session audio recordings exceeding 18 months.

The members voted as follows:

Voting 7 Yea 0 Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

Superintendent Brad Turner reported on the KSED Governing Board Representative meeting held on Tuesday, August 28, 2018.

It was moved by Shawn Cook and seconded by Randy Schwartzkopf to go into closed session at 7:15 p.m. for the purpose of considering employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of employees.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by John Hallock and seconded by Rancy Schwartzkopf to go out of closed session at 7:53 p.m.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by John Hallock and seconded by Tom Speedie to accept the resignation of the Academic Enrichment Teacher Evelyn Hankins effective immediately.

The members voted as follows:

Voting 7 Yea

0 Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by John Hallock and seconded by Randy Schwartzkopf to accept the resignation of Special Education Aide Lucas Giacomo effective immediately.

The members voted as follows:

Voting 7 Yea

0 Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by John Hallock to accept the resignation of High School Secretary Terry Disper effective August 31, 2018.

The members voted as follows:

Voting 7 Yea

0 Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by John Hallock and seconded by Kim Morris to employ Dempsey Witte as Assistant Girls Track Coach for 2018-19 school year.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Paul Barczewski Yea

Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
John Hallock	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion carried.	

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded by John Hallock to approve the Dean of Students contract for the 2018-19 school year.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:
Paul Barczewski Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla Yea
Kim Morris Yea

Kim Morris Yea
John Hallock Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Yea
Shawn Cook Yea
Thomas Speedie Yea

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by John Hallock and seconded by Paul Barczewski to adjourn the meeting.

The board members voted as follows:

Voting 7 Yea 0 Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 7:58 p.m.

PRESIDENT	SECRETARY